Follow by Email

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Tanzanian winner SADC Essay Competition

President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete congratulates Neema Stephen a Tanzanian student from Nabote Secondary School in Njombe who won the first prize in  this year's Southern African Development Community (SADC)  Secondary Schools Essay Competition.
Tanzanian Wins SADC Essay Competition as Zimbabwe decorates Mbita

Neema Stephen, a Form Three student at Nabote Secondary School in Njombe, has won the first prize in this year's Southern African Development Community (SADC)  Secondary Schools Essay Competition, beating Zimbabwe and Swaziland to second and third positions, respectively.

Neema was awarded a certificate and US$1,500. The second winner received $750 and the third prize was $500. Secondary schools in the region were asked to write an essay on the effects of climate change and discuss the remedy.

The prizes were presented to the winners by H.E. Prof. Arthur Peter Mutharika, President of the Republic of Malawi, in his capacity as the outgoing SADC Chairman, at the sideline of the SADC summit.

President Mutharika also presented prizes to winners of mass media competition, which eluded Tanzanians. The SADC Council of ministers has directed the secretariat of the organization to promote the competition among member states.

The competitions are coordinated by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation in collaboration with the relevant sectoral ministries.

Meanwhile, the Republic of Zimbabwe has bestowed its highest National Honour, the Royal Order of Munumutapa, on retired Brigadier General Hashim Mbita in recognition of his contribution to the liberation of the Southern African country.

H.E. Robert Mugabe, President of Zimbabwe, announced the decision during the opening of the 34th SADC Summit at Victoria Falls, after launching a nine-volume publication on the Southern Africa liberation struggles, coordinated by General Mbita.

President Mugabe said beside the medal, his government had awarded General Mbita, who was the Executive Secretary of the OAU Liberation Committee for 22 years, US$100,000.
General Mbita could not attend the ceremony due to ill health, and the medal and cheque were received on his behalf by his daughter, Shella.

The OAU Liberation Committee, which was based in Dar es Salaam, was  key in mobilizing arms and military supplies for liberation movements of the Southern Africa region. It was dissolved in 1994 after the defeat of apartheid in South Africa.

The only other non-Zimbabwean recipients of the honour are the Father of the Tanzanian Nation, Mwalimu Julius Nyerere, the first President of Mozambique, H.E. Samora Machel, the First President of Botswana, H.E. Sir Seretse Khama and H.E. Kenneth Kaunda, the first President of Zambia.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.